Unprecedented
Unprecedented
Drugs for a Deity
0:00
-26:30

Drugs for a Deity

Does the First Amendment protect bizarre drug speech in schools?

Joe Frederick knew that students have some free speech rights, but he wanted to find out just how far those rights go. So when his high school class headed outside to watch the Olympic torch pass through their Alaska neighborhood in January 2002, Joe unfurled a 14-foot-banner that would test the limits of the First Amendment in school. Except… no one really understood what the banner meant, including Joe Frederick!

Does the First Amendment protect bizarre drug speech in school? Click play to find out.

Unprecedented
TRANSCRIPT: Drugs for a Deity
FREDERICK: I tried to debate her over this in her office, asking, “Why am I being suspended? This is freedom of speech, you know, and I don’t see how I can be punished for this!” And I was simply told, no, that this is not freedom of speech, that I don’t even have freedom of speech. I quoted Thomas Jefferson to her, and then she punished me further by adding onto my suspension…
Read more
Unprecedented host Matt Schwartz poses with the banner in question (2019)

Leave a comment

0 Comments
Unprecedented
Unprecedented
Celebrating the accidental guardians of the First Amendment. For regular updates on the legal stories that shape our lives, visit unprecedented.substack.com.